Important Dates

Paper Submission Date : 15/05/2019
Extended Paper Submission Date : 15/07/2019

Intimation of Acceptance : 20/09/2019

Submission of Camera Ready Copy : 10/10/2019

Chief Guest & Expert Talks

Chief Guest - Padma Shri A S Kiran Kumar

Cinque Terre

Shri A. S. Kiran Kumar is Vikram Sarabhai Professor at the Indian Space Research Organisation, Bangalore. He is a Member of the Space Commission, Government of India and Member, Governing Council, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. During the period from January, 2015 to January, 2018, he has served as Secretary, Department of Space, Chairman, Space Commission and Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation.

Shri Kiran Kumar was born on October 22, 1952 in Hassan, Karnataka. He obtained his Physics Honours Degree from National College, Bangalore in 1971, M.Sc. Physics (Electronics) from Bangalore University in 1973 and M.Tech. Degree in Physical Engineering from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 1975.

He has steered the implementation of the applications oriented Indian Space Programme, which has facilitated rapid development of the country in many important spheres of earth observation, communication, navigation, meteorology and space science, as well as the development of indigenous launch vehicles and related technologies for providing assured access to space.

He has contributed to the design and development of more than 50 Electro-Optical Imaging Sensors flown on Space borne platforms starting from Bhaskara TV payload in 1979 to the payloads onboard the Mars Orbiter Mission in 2013.

He has played a crucial role in Chandrayaan-1 mission right from the conceptualisation stage and has made exemplary contributions to the success of Mars Orbiter Mission and Reusable Launch Vehicle -Technology Demonstrator (RLV-TD).

Shri Kiran Kumar has been the Chair of the Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) in 2012. He has made valuable contributions to Coordination Group of Meteorological Satellites (CGMS), Expert Team on Satellite Systems – World Meteorological Organisation (ETSAT of WMO) and Indo-US Joint Working Group on Civil Space Cooperation.

Shri Kiran Kumar is President-elect, Aeronautical Society of India and Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences India, Indian Society of Remote Sensing, Institution of Electronics & Telecommunications Engineers, Indian Society of Systems for Science & Engineering, Indian Meteorological Society, Indian Society of Geomatics, Gujarat Science Academy, Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences and an elected member of International Academy of Astronautics.

Shri Kiran Kumar has been conferred with Honoris Causa and DSc by 18 Indian academic institutions.

He has co-authored 85 publications in various national/international scientific journals/conferences/symposiums.

In recognition of his contributions, he was conferred Padma Shri award by the President of India in 2014. The Government of Karnataka honoured him with Rajyostava Award for the year 2015 for his contribution to space science & technology, `Sir M. Visvesvaraya Senior Scientist State Award’ for the year 2013 and Lifetime Achievement Award from Karnataka Science and Technology Academy (KSTA) in 2016. He is recipient of IISc Distinguished Alumnus Award for the year 2015, Gujarat Ratna `Life for Innovation’ Award conferred by Gujarat Innovation Society in 2014 and Lifetime Achievement Award by Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences in 2016, Bharat Ratna Sir M. Visvesvaraya Centenary Award for Innovation in Technology conferred by University of Mysore in 2016, G.M. Modi Science Award by Gujar Mal Modi Science Foundation in 2016, 19th SIES Chandrasekarendra Saraswati National Eminence Award in 2016, H K Firodia Vijnan Ratna Award by H K Firodia Foundation in 2017 and Santokbaa Award instituted by SRKKF Surat in 2018.

Shri Kiran Kumar has been conferred with the prestigious 2018 International von Karman Wings Award instituted by the Aerospace Historical Society, in collaboration with the Graduate Aerospace Laboratories at the California Institute of Technology, on November 08, 2018 and the Chevalier de l'Ordre national de la Légion d'Honneur – the highest civilian honour by the Government of France on May 02, 2019.

Guest of Honour - Padma Shri Amitava Roy

Cinque Terre

Amitava Roy is a Raja Ramanna Fellow, Department of Atomic Energy (Govt. of India) and Former DISTINGUISHED SCIENTIST and Chief Executive, Nuclear Recycle Board, BHABHA ATOMIC RESEARCH CENTRE (Mumbai). The President of India has conferred the Padma Shri on Shri Amitava Roy in recognition of his distinguished service in the field of Science & Engineering at a Civil Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan on March 20, 2018.

Shri Roy’s specialization is spent fuel reprocessing and radioactive nuclear waste management. Shri Roy is one of the architects of India’s successful Nuclear Recycle Program, which is vital to the expansion of nuclear power and national security of the country. He was assigned the responsibility of designing the India’s largest Nuclear Recycle Plant at Kalpakkam, which he accomplished successfully. As Project Director and Facility Director, Shri Roy constructed and successfully commissioned the first integrated Nuclear Recycle Plant at Kalpakkam, which included Waste Immobilization Plant (WIP) for the management of radioactive nuclear waste. The outstanding performance of WIP, which was fully indigenous and technologically challenging, has demonstrated India’s capability of management of all types of radioactive nuclear waste.

Shri Roy held the position of Chief Executive of Nuclear Recycle Board till July, 2017. Under his leadership, construction of the mega project ‘Integrated Nuclear Recycle Plant’ at Tarapur commenced. Shri Roy played a pivotal role for India to achieve the capability of design, construction, commissioning and operation of industrial scale Nuclear Recycle Facilities. Under his leadership as Chief Executive, the Recycle Plants performed exceedingly well meeting the requirements of supplying the nuclear fuel for India’s second stage of nuclear power program, which is a step toward ensuring the energy security of the nation in a sustainable manner and meeting India’s clean energy commitments.

Contact : Dr Parul Patel, Conference Chair, Phone : +91-079-71652214, Email :

Disclaimer:The content of the website is subject to change any time without prior notice to any user of it. The information hyperlinked or referred to this website are neither investigated nor analyzed by the conference organizers. No warranty or representation, expressed or implied, is given as to the accuracy or completeness of that information. In no event will the conference organizers accept any liability with regard to the information contained in this website or any other hyperlinked or referred to websites.

© Copyright 2019 by Nirma University